Augustine’s prayer of thanksgiving

2015/11/26 § Leave a comment

My God, in my thanksgiving I want to recall and confess your mercies over me. Let my bones be penetrated by your love (Ps. 85:13) and say, ‘Lord who is like you?’ (PS. 34:10). ‘You have broken my chains, I will sacrifice to you the sacrifice of praise’ (Ps. 115:16-17). I will tell how you broke them. Let all who adore you say when they hear these things: ‘Blessed is the Lord in heaven and in earth; great and wonderful is his name’ (Ps. 71:18-19; 134:6). 1


1 Saint AugustineConfessions, trans. Henry Chadwick (United States: Oxford University Press, 1998), 133.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Augustine’s prayer of thanksgiving at CREDO UT INTELLIGAM.

meta

