Fatherhood

2014/11/08 § Leave a comment

like he
he, that is, my father
there are some things I must
do.
these are those things
I labor over
and under.
pull my heart up thru
the opening of my mouth
bleeding, gaping mess.

this is a metaphor.

what there is to
do
is only half the thing.
also, I must want
to do these things.

but how can I?

there are numerous moments
in every day of my life
when I need to be prepared
and to be ready to do.
but God,
this burden
will you take it?

pursue
respond
lead
reflect
heal
challenge
love
motivate
convince
forgive.

returning to what it is
I must not
retreat.
I must not be filled
with apathy.
I must not find myself
staring at the shadows,
chained
fearing them,
fearing they
and all they
do.

but if I may
then I will cut thru
and displace this thing
and I will live
in light of
his life.

not my shadow.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fatherhood at CREDO UT INTELLIGAM.

meta

